Having shared her cancer journey with so many people we felt it was only right to also share the end of that journey with all her followers.

“Having had a hospital bed delivered I was now sleeping downstairs, although comfortable this was the first time in 33 years I had slept apart from my husband.

The weather was gorgeous over the bank holiday weekend and my family managed to help me get outside so I could enjoy the sun. On the Monday I felt it was too hot so had to sit in the shade (I have never asked to go in the shade in my life!).

Tuesday after the bank holiday I felt too tired to attempt to get out of bed, although I could still get to the toilet with help.

Family were coming around everyday plus I had carers in the morning and at night to help me. My mouth was starting to get very dry which made speaking hard.

On the Wednesday I had a syringe driver fitted which meant that any pain was kept under control. Although it also meant I was very sleepy so couldn’t hold a conversation for long as I would get so tired, only waking for an hour or so at a time. I was not eating now, this also meant that getting up to go to the toilet or shower was getting harder.

My family were incredible, I was never alone, even at night one of my daughters would stay over in case my husband didn’t wake if i needed anything.

I found it a struggle to eat as my mouth was so dry and painful. Lime jelly, sorbet, fruit drinks and ice were the only things I could eat. I was also getting through a lot of lip salve.

I started to feeling a little anxious, worrying about things that weren’t of concern. I was given an anxiolytic in my syringe driver aswell as the diamorphine. This relaxed me, but now I was sleeping almost constantly only waking for brief moments to see my family, give a smile and get a kiss. I never knew how much I was loved until now, always having someone at my bedside.

My husband and daughters all had private chats with me, saying goodbye and that it was alright to stop fighting. I watched them as they surrounded me with tears in my eyes.

On Monday night, my husband sat with me and my hands had gone numb, I couldn’t feel him squeeze my hand. I knew the lord was waiting for me, I told him I loved him and that I was coming!

On Tuesday 5th September I woke, my hands were still numb, as the day progressed my breathing started to get noisy. Just before lunch, I heard my grandson gurgle next to me and lifted my head to see him. I didn’t move much after that, but my husband, daughters and brother knew I could still hear them, so all sat round and chatted about their memories. At 2230, I held my breath for a minute, then breathed again. Four of my daughters and husband rushed to my bedside, I held my breath again. I heard them all crying and saying they loved me, then they told me of course there would be Poldark in heaven, I laughed and let go.”

Our courageous mother was a fighter till the end and lived longer than all medical professionals said she would. She died content and pain free. We miss her so much but I hope her journey can help others in some way. We also would like to thanks so many people for following her journey and the supportive comments she has received along the way. To all those people out there fighting cancer, keep up the fight and don’t loose hope.

God bless Mummy, love Graham, Sammy, Hattie, Charlotte, Caroline, Sarah-Jane and Annette